Skip to content

Apple Pecan Streusel Muffins

September 22, 2010

It’s time to admit that fall is around the corner. Although it’s hard to believe that when it’s 70 and 80 degrees outside. My apple tree is heavy with apples and they are just waiting to be turned into homemade applesauce and used in recipes.

The new carpet is in, and the bulk of the furniture is moved in. However, all the knick knacks, toys, clothing and house decorations need to be moved back upstairs. Which is what I’ll be spending most of my day doing. Hopefully everything will be back to normal by the end of today or tomorrow. My body can’t take anymore. I’m so tired!

I fell across this recipe and it sounded perfect for all of those apples on my tree. I love the flavor combination of the cloves, cinnamon, apples and pecans. My mouth is watering just thinking about sinking my teeth into one now! They are perfect for breakfast or as an after dinner treat.

Apple Pecan Streusel Muffins

2 cups minus 4 tbsp unbleached all purpose flour (or white whole wheat flour)

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

12 tbsp natural cane sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp ground cloves

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp sea salt

½ cup soymilk or milk

½ cup applesauce

4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs, beaten

2 cups peeled, cored and finely chopped apples

Streusel Topping:

½ cup chopped pecans

6 tbsp packed brown sugar

1 tsp ground cinnamon

Mix together in small bowl and set aside for later use.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a mixing bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cloves, cinnamon and sea salt.

2.In a small bowl combine the milk, applesauce, eggs, butter and vanilla. Whisk to combine.

3.Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated. Fold in the apples.

4.Spoon the batter into the muffin cups, filling a little over halfway.

5.Sprinkle streusel evenly over the batter.

6.Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or until the muffins spring lightly back when they are lightly touched. Remove them from the pans immediately and allow to cool on a wire rack, or serve while warm.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 2:28 pm

    Yummy! These sound delicious. I love the addition of the whole grains too. Oh and a streusel topping…love it! Thanks for sharing.

  2. September 23, 2010 3:43 am

    I desperately want to make this for tomorrow morning! Maybe I’ll wake up early. Thanks for the recipe.

  3. September 24, 2010 1:30 pm

    Glad we’re not neighbors! I’d be eating everything that came out of your oven. I love muffins, OK- I love all baked goods, who am I kidding.
    We should get together sometime Traci!

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      September 24, 2010 1:58 pm

      We totally should Amy! I’m only taking one class this semester so I’m pretty free in the mornings. Let me know, we could meet for breakfast somewhere if that works for you. Mmmm, I’m thinking Paradise Bakery…

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes Galore… « Healthy Deals N Steals's Blog

Leave a comment