Skip to content

Pork Chop with Apple Garnish Sauce

January 28, 2013

I’m feeling a little under the weather today after spending an entire weekend taking care of sick kids. I’m excited that my husband is back in town after three weeks away. It always nice to not be feeling so good and have someone there to help. This post was written quite a long time ago–back in fall. I wrote it on a rare quiet morning. The recipe will be just as delicious today as it was when I made it back then. Enjoy!It’s unusually quiet this morning in my house. The baby is spending the day at Grandma’s house and the kids are off to school. It’s just me and the dog. Or the dog and I. Something like that.

I haven’t been alone in three months. It’s bizarre to be typing and not have to stop to pull up someone’s hair in a ponytail, make breakfast for the kids or iron a shirt for my husband. The dog is loving it. She sits quietly at my feet until I move or shift positions and then she is up like the crack of a whip and wagging her tail. I think she is bored too. Or just wants to go on a w-a-l-k. I’m glad that dogs can’t spell.

In the backyard sits a lone apple tree. Our only fruit tree. This time of year it is overflowing with apples. I make applesauce, apple butter, crisps, cookies, bread, and even freeze sliced apples.

And now I bring you pork.

I don’t know why I always picture Wilbur when I say “pork” but I do and then I can’t eat it. My family seems to have no problem with it.

This pork recipe is perfect for slapping on the grill and making it up if you are still in an area that will be hot for the next several months, or you can bake it in on the stove or in the oven. Whichever you prefer. The apple garnish is perfect with it!

Pork Chop with Apple Garnish Sauce

* You will want to begin by heating up your garnish so it is ready when the pork chops are.

4 boneless pork chops

1-2 tbsp olive oil

To cook pork chops:

Heat a pan over medium heat. Pour 1-2 tbsp of olive oil in the pan. Place the pork chops and cook for 3-5 minutes on each side. Remove from heat and place on plate. Top with garnish.

Apple Garnish Sauce:

1 cup finely chopped apples (or applesauce)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup water or broth

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp pepper

In a saucepan, heat mixture on low-medium heat until it comes to a simmer. Remove from heat and spoon several tablespoons over each pork chop.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

