Skip to content

Pear Walnut Waffles

January 14, 2013
pear walnut waffles

Be careful what you wish for. My husband found a job which we are so grateful for. The downside? The first two weeks he has been away. He was gone all last week, came home for a quick weekend, and is now off this morning for another week of training. I’m not going to lie– it’s hard. I just feel like I can’t complain. There are so many others who have it much harder than I do, and who handle the work load that I do for a much longer period of time.

I do have to say that I am grateful that the washer decided to break this weekend while HE was washing. I always seem to have the bad luck with appliances and am glad that the appliances decided to give me a break this time. See: Traci’s Appliance Fund and 9 Garbage Disposals in 9 Years.

pear walnut waffles

In all of the hustle and bustle of hauling laundry down to the laundr-o-mat and prepping for the week ahead, I was able to get some time to make some waffles. This recipe is similar to the apple walnut waffles I made a few months ago.

I think I need to add pears to my list of fruits I can’t live without. These waffles are delicious, good and good for you. (I consider that last one a bonus!) Try them out, you’ll love them!

Pear Walnut Waffles

2 cups flour

(I use oat flour, or a mix of all purpose flour and whole wheat flour)

1/4 cup ground flax

1/4 cup sugar (I use coconut)

4 tsp baking powder

2 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 eggs

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 cup Greek yogurt (plain or vanilla recommended)

2 cup milk (substitute soy or almond if needed)

1 cup finely diced pears

1/4 cup finely chopped walnuts

In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients (flour, flax, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon) until blended. Slowly add in the eggs, applesauce, yogurt, and milk and continue stirring until mixture becomes blended well. Gently fold in the pears and walnuts until evenly distribute through the mixture.

Cook waffles according to your specific waffle manufacturers instruction. These waffles were tested on a standard 4 inch square waffle maker and made approximately 14 waffles. This recipe has not been tested using a belgian waffle maker.

Related Links:

Apple Walnut Waffles with Cinnamon Syrup by Burnt Apple

Apple Walnut Gallette (NY Times)

Apple Walnut Bread by One Perfect Bite

Apple Walnut Pull Apart Bread by Six Sisters Stuff

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 19, 2013 10:32 pm

    These look yummy! I love pears and walnuts! Thanks for the recipe! (found you through the SITS girls link up) 🙂

Leave a Reply

