Skip to content

Broccoli Brownies

February 24, 2010

Every cooking class I make a new recipe–something a little out of the ordinary that you wouldn’t expect would go together. I fell across this recipe from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious cookbook. Her recipe used carrot and spinach, but I substituted a mixture of broccoli and zucchini.  I was FREAKING out while cooking this. You could smell the broccoli cooking, NOT the chocolate!!! I was so freaked out I had the kids try a piece and I even snuck a piece–just in case. What resulted was a mouth wateringly delicious moist brownie unlike ANY I’ve ever tasted before. And the brownies became the surprise hit of the evening!!

I didn’t have time to steam my broccoli then blend it, so I used a couple of jars of Earth’s Best broccoli and zucchini baby food. (Yes, baby food!!) It worked out wonderfully! So many people came back for seconds, and the owner of the store that we hold the classes at came back for thirds.

These brownies also have plenty of antioxidants, close to 3 grams of fiber (unheard of for a dessert!!) and only 125 calories each! Top each brownie with a small scoop of fat free ice cream and you’ve got a delicious dessert that’s moist, tastes great and is good for you!!

BROCCOLI BROWNIES

Ingredients

Nonstick cooking spray

3 ounces semi sweet chocolate squares

1 cup broccoli puree (steam and then puree it in a food processor, or use already pureed baby food) You can also substitute zucchini or squash or a mix and match of all if you want.

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp butter (I used Smart Balance)

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 large egg whites

3/4 cup oat flour, or unbleached all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degree. oat an 8×8 inch baking pan with cooking spray.

Melt the chocolate in a saucepan over low-med heat.

In a large bowl, combine the melted chocolate, broccoli puree, sugar, cocoa powder, butter and vanilla and whisk until smooth and creamy–1-2 minutes.

whisk in egg whites. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt with a wooden spoon.

Pour the batter into the pan and bake 35-40 minutes. Cool completely in the pan before cutting into 12 bars.

Nutrition Facts: Calories 124, Calories from Fat 53, Total fat 6g, Sat fat 3.7g, Cholesterol 5mg, Sodium 140mg, Carbohydrate 18.1gm, Protein 2.7g, Fiber 2.8g.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 5:50 pm

    Very interesting! I think I might try these!

    Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day. It means so much to me!

  2. February 24, 2010 8:07 pm

    Now I have made black bean brownies, but not broccoli. Do you think you could sub WW flour?

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      February 24, 2010 8:34 pm

      I’m sure that would be fine. The recipe allows oat flour as a substitution though, but you could definetely try whole wheat. It might change the taste a bit. Let me know if you make them with whole wheat flour and how they turn out!

  3. March 7, 2010 2:22 am

    Dear Burntapples, when I saw this in your recipe list I had to check it out. Broccoli brownies are definitely two things I would not expect to go together, especially baby food broccoli. I love trying new dishes like broccoli brownies even more so when other people go crazy over it and it was not expected. “Wild Thing”, you make my heart sing! Loved and saved this recipe. I shall revisit you soon. Thank you for sharing.
    Cheers, Gaby
    You can always visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com.

Trackbacks

  1. Ginger-Orange Dinner Bake « Burnt Apple
  2. Under 300 Calories « Burnt Apple
  3. Black Bean Brownies « Burnt Apple
  4. Top Healthy Kid Friendly Recipes to Start Your New Year « Burnt Apple

Leave a comment