Skip to content

Black Bean Brownies

August 23, 2010

Several months ago, I tried an experimental Broccoli Brownie recipe for a “cooking with broccoli” class I did. Since then, it’s continued to grace the top 5 most searched for recipes on the site.

And people have emailed me, urging me to try making a black bean brownie recipe.

And I refused.

Since my childhood, I would eat any vegetable you put in front of me (not always willingly) any fruit, or any crazy concoction. But beans? Those I would try, but always ended up gagging on them. Perhaps it was the texture, the way my parents cooked them, or just the sheer flavor of them. I DID DO NOT LIKE BEANS!

That makes it hard when you’re eating mostly vegetarian. But I still wouldn’t  won’t eat them.

So I thanked many of you for the recipes and put them in the dark corner of the kitchen. No WAY was I going to ruin perfectly good chocolate with beans. But then I tried a bean and quinoa recipe that I actually liked. (Although I’m confessing right here and now that I halved the amount I was supposed to use). But for me to actually like it? That was crazy!

So in searching through that dark corner of recipes, I found a black bean brownie recipe that I ended up trying. It claimed to be the most delicious brownie you will ever eat (although when I snuck a taste of the batter, I tasted beans!)

Now you’ll need to try it to see if really is as delicious as it claims to be. But I can tell you the recipe no longer sits in the little black corner of my kitchen.

INGREDIENTS

1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

4 eggs

4 tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup + 3 tbsp cocoa powder

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup sugar (or 1 1/2 cups agave nectar)

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a blender or food processor, place all ingredients (minus the walnuts) in. Turn blender or food processor on and blend for 2 minutes.  (I set my blender to the puree mode). If using walnuts, fold them in with a spatula after batter has mixed completely. Pour batter into a greased 8×8 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and allow brownies to cool completely before cutting. Sprinkle with powdered sugar shortly before serving.

Makes 16 servings. 2 WW points each.

**For a richer, smoother tasting brownie, use 4 oz unsweetened cocoa squares instead.

RELATED RECIPES:

Black Beans and Sweet Potato Dessert by Go Dairy Free

Healthy Flourless Chocolate Cake by Healthy Indulgences

Chocolate Chickpea Spread from Bittersweet Blog

Leave a Reply

