Skip to content

Chicken Caesar Mini Phyllos

March 30, 2011

Lately, I’m overcome with cravings. The last month or so it’s been apples. This week I’ve been to the store twice to stock up on red grapes. I shouldn’t complain. My last pregnancies have included cravings like Brown Toppers–a chocolate dipped ice cream cone. Poor husband of mine had to get those for me in the middle of the winter. And my last pregnancy I craved the most incredible french fries on the planet–a real potato french fry covered in a blend of sweet, spicy and salty spices. I would have to stop on the way home from work and get them they were so good.

But this pregnancy, the fruit seems to be winning. Thinking about the garden the other day, all I could think about was planting strawberries, raspberries, and lettuce. Never mind the host of other great vegetables.

Mini Fillo (phyllo) Shells

I was able to break away from my thoughts of fruit to think about lunch. I wanted something simple and easy yet different. A few weeks ago I was at the store and found some mini phyllo shells. At only 25 calories for each shell, I was impressed. I began searching for ideas on things to make with them, and finally wracked my brain and came up with these Chicken Caesar shells. The lunch itself came in at under 350 calories. (And really, these days it’s amazing if my brain comes up with anything).

Enjoy!

And don’t forget to enter our Taste Of Home Giveaway. We’re giving away two tickets to the Taste of Home Cooking Show on April 19th.

CHICKEN CAESAR MINI PHYLLOS

4 Athens mini phyllo shells

Basil Pesto (storebought is fine, just check as some brands like Knorr have MSG in them) or make your own here.

Cooked chicken, cut up into small bite sized pieces

Lettuce (I chose Earthbound Organic lettuce blend)

Parmesan Cheese

Caesar dressing (I chose Maple Grove Farms lite Caesar) —$1 off coupon here.

Lite

In each mini phyllo shell, brush a small layer of pesto on the insides of each cup. Place a few chicken pieces inside each cup, top with lettuce and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. Add a light layer of lite Caesar dressing over the top of each cup and enjoy.

Alternate: For a warm meal, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush pesto on the insides of each cup, place a few chicken pieces inside each cup, and top with parmesan cheese. Place in the oven for 3-5 minutes to warm. Remove from oven, and top the remaining cups with lettuce and salad dressing.

Serves 1

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 5:47 am

    I absolutely LOVE phylo dough and puff pastry. Great post, the chicken and pesto combo sounds delish!

  2. April 5, 2011 3:26 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Sounds delish!

Leave a comment