Skip to content

Kneaders Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

September 29, 2010

It’s not a good thing to have a Kneaders Bakery just down the road from your house. It’s also not a good thing to see the sign “pumpkin bread has arrived.” Because that only means one thing. The BEST bread in the state has arrived, and it’s worth it’s $7 or whatever amount a loaf it costs. I LOVE it. But I also love the smell of pumpkin and spices filling up my house.

So after a long, exhausting search I’ve found the secret recipe for Kneader’s Pumpkin Bread. Try it for yourself!! I think I’ll be making some more today while my little boy is home from school sick with croup.

Update: Kneaders no longer adds chocolate chips to their bread like they did years ago–but I still do. To keep it close to the original recipe, just omit the chocolate. Or make one loaf with chocolate and one without. Just to see which one you like the most. 🙂

INGREDIENTS

  • 3-⅓ cups unbleached all purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tbsp Cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1-½ teaspoon Salt
  • 2-⅔ cups Sugar
  • ⅔ cups Softened Butter
  • 4 whole Eggs
  • 1 pound (or 1 30oz can or 2 15oz cans) Mashed Pumpkin
  • ⅔ cups Water
  • 1 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (I highly recommend Ghiradelli)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Sift together dry ingredients and set aside. Cream sugar and butter until well incorporated. Add eggs one at a time and then add the mashed pumpkin. Alternate adding dry ingredients with water. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour into three large greased bread pans and bake at 325 degrees for 55 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the loaf comes out clean.

Makes 3 loaves. That won’t make it very long at your house before being devoured.

Related Links:

Whole Grain Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Waffles

Pumpkin Swirl Breakfast Cake

Pumpkin Pie French Toast Casserole

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 2:03 pm

    I’m glad you made it yourself because it seems so ridiculous to PAY for pumpkin bread- so easy to make!! Thx so much for your vote!

  2. September 29, 2010 7:18 pm

    I need some pumpkin!! And you are right, having a Kneaders that close is not a good thing… well, it’s sort of good when your in the mood for pumpkin bread!

  3. September 29, 2010 7:19 pm

    Hey traci, there is a widget you can install that will make your recipes print friendly. .. It’s called “print friendly”. I’d love if you had it 🙂

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      September 29, 2010 8:04 pm

      Amy, what a lifesaver, thanks!!

  4. September 30, 2010 2:26 am

    this looks perfect and ps i love the name of your blog!

  5. September 30, 2010 3:18 am

    What a great recipe for fall. I will be picking up some pumpkin tomorrow. Your description sold me on it!
    Dana

  6. DanaB permalink
    September 30, 2010 5:27 am

    Never heard of Kneaders, but this bread sounds wonderful. thx for the recipe. Think I’ll buy some pumpkin tomorrow 🙂 Hope your son is feeling better soon!!

  7. September 30, 2010 3:25 pm

    I absolutely LOVE kneaders pumpkin bread. I start to crave it about this time of year. Thanks for the recipe!

  8. Sara permalink
    September 30, 2010 6:28 pm

    Does this recipe make two or three loaves? You state to pour it into two large bread pans, but at the bottom it says “makes three loaves”. Could you clarify

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      September 30, 2010 10:06 pm

      Oops. Three. I changed that, thanks!!

  9. Brianna permalink
    September 30, 2010 8:23 pm

    Kind of confused on the amount of pumpkin. It says 1lb, which would be 16 oz, but then says 30 oz in parentheses. Is it 1lb or 30 oz?

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      September 30, 2010 10:05 pm

      my can of pumpkin says it’s 1 lb and 30 oz. At the store they sell a large and small can of pumpkin. It’s the large can that you want to use, or two of the small cans. Hope that helps!

  10. October 3, 2010 1:40 am

    What a great fall recipe. I love pumpking bread. Thanks for posting this on the Hive.

  11. October 5, 2010 6:25 pm

    i am so excited to try this. we LOVE KNEADERS and it is always a treat to visit them…ESPECIALLY for their pumpkin bread. now i am off to do some baking.
    Thank you!

  12. October 12, 2010 11:04 pm

    this looks so yummy! how does it compare to kneader’s? I will have to make a baby safe version and we will eat it all up, thanks for the recipe!

  13. Amberly permalink
    September 6, 2012 3:18 pm

    Kneaders doesn’t make pumpkin chocolate chip bread, just pumpkin bread. But this recipe is delicious!

  14. September 19, 2012 4:07 pm

    I will try this today. Sounds really good! 🙂

    • rjadams3@hotmail.com permalink
      October 16, 2012 2:32 pm

      Which pumpkin do you use the raw pie kind or the other one?

      • healthydealsnsteals permalink
        October 16, 2012 6:15 pm

        I use canned pumpkin puree or fresh pumpkin puree. Just make sure that you DO NOT use the pumpkin pie puree. It contains cinnamon and other spices and since they are already accounted for in the recipe, you don’t need to use it. It will change the taste of the recipe. And don’t use it and then omit the spices. It doesn’t taste the same either. Hope this helps!

  15. Anon permalink
    October 16, 2012 5:31 am

    Kneaders does not put chocolate chips in their pumpkin bread (I wish!!). I used to work there and made the pumpkin bread all the time. While this looks like it would be yummy, this is NOT the Kneaders recipe that they use.

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      October 16, 2012 6:20 pm

      Ha! Ha! You caught my mistake. Back years ago, (like 10) they did. I worked right across the street from a Kneaders and they made both pumpkin chocolate chip and pumpkin bread. Now they only make the pumpkin bread but still make pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. It could’ve just been my Kneaders but they DID make it! 🙂 This recipe is the Kneaders pumpkin bread recipe but I chose to add a little chocolate. (Chocolate in my opinion is great with anything). If you want the “true” Kneaders bread, just omit the chocolate chips. But I highly recommend them. Hope this helps!

  16. October 23, 2012 2:26 pm

    could i use this in muffins instead?

  17. October 23, 2012 2:28 pm

    can i use this in muffins? i am looking for something like this for a halloween party

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      October 23, 2012 9:15 pm

      Sure.

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      October 23, 2012 9:17 pm

      Yes! I bet they would be delicious!

  18. Pam Tanner permalink
    October 25, 2012 11:06 pm

    have just mixed mine all up and ready to throw in the oven. Do I need to grease the pans? thanks for sharing!

    • Pam Tanner permalink
      October 25, 2012 11:09 pm

      oops sorry I always hate it when people don’t read the directions well and ask questions they shouldn’t like I just did :0) just saw that I do need to grease my pans!

  19. Tammy permalink
    October 28, 2012 10:52 pm

    Love this! Mine is baking in the oven right now. I forgot the water… don’t know how that happened but I hope it doesn’t change it to much. My batter was pretty runny so it should be ok. MY Kneaders does make pumpkin chocolate chip bread… maybe they are still behind the times? Or they just throw some chocolate in for those of us who love it? Thanks for this recipe!

    • Tammy permalink
      October 28, 2012 10:54 pm

      I forgot to add, I poured mine into 8 mini loaf pans and cooked about 50 min. (Might make more if you remember the water?)

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Spice Muffins « Burnt Apple
  2. Thanksgiving Breakfast « Burnt Apple
  3. Pumpkin Bread |
  4. Best of 2011 « Burnt Apple
  5. Maple Bacon Dutch Baby | Burnt Apple
  6. Lot’s o’ Good Stuff Chocolate Chip Pancakes | Burnt Apple
  7. Pumpkin Time! | Burnt Apple
  8. Kneader’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread | Egg Rolls & Sauce
  9. The Perfect Fall Dinner {recipe}
  10. Thanksgiving Breakfast | Burnt Apple
  11. Top 10 Favorites | Burnt Apple

Leave a comment