Skip to content

Zupa’s Caribbean Pumpkin Coconut Soup

October 22, 2012

There is a little deli and cafe near my home called Zupas that I have to tell you was single handedly supported by me last October. Why? Because it has a wonderful soup served only during October that is made of pumpkin. And beans. And coconut.

I’m not a fan of pumpkin soup really. It’s always been a bit bland tasting to me. And the beans?…I’m very picky about beans. I don’t want to know that I’m eating beans. If you’ve followed long enough, you know that I don’t. like. beans. But I am slowly forcing myself to try them.

This soup has a wonderful flavor to it. The beans actually enhance (yes I just said “beans” and “enhance” in the same sentence) the flavor of the soup. The coconut adds a rich sweet flavor and the pumpkin makes the soup.

I’m happy that I get to enjoy this soup all during fall now. It’s just perfect for these fall days that can’t decide if they want to be cold or warm. This soup lets you feel like you are somewhere tropical even if its less than tropical outside!

You can find even more great recipes from Cafe Zupas on their blog.

Zupa’s Caribbean Pumpkin Coconut Soup

2 tbsp butter or 2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 yellow onion, finely diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 12 or 14 oz can vegetable broth

1 12 oz can regular coconut milk

1 12 oz can light coconut milk

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp chile powder

1 12 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 6 oz can diced pineapple

1 potato, cooked and chopped into small cubes

1 large roma tomato, cut into small cubes

Salt and pepper, to taste

Chopped macadamias, shredded coconut for garnish

In a large saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion, cook until tender. Add the pumpkin, broth, coconut milk and spices and heat until boiling. Add in tomatoes, pineapple, potatoes and beans and cook until tomatoes become tender.

Remove from heat and serve garnished with macadamias and coconut on top if desired.

Optional: Once the soup has cooked completely, I put the soup into a blender or food processor and mix for 15-30 seconds or until mixture is smooth to slightly coarse. Careful, hot foods can burn! (Yes, I do this so I don’t taste the beans so much. I am a baby about beans).

Storage: You can store the soup in the fridge for a couple of days, or freeze it too. While it will still taste great once you reheat it, it may be a little grainy because of the coconut milk.

Related Links:

Homemade Ranch and BBQ Chicken Salad (Zupas) by Real Mom Kitchen

Pineapple Coconut Cupcakes by Burnt Apple

Zupa’s Mangoberry Salad by Sugar.Betty

Zupa’s Wisconsin Cauliflower Soup by Amy’s Yummy Food

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 5:40 am

    Reblogged this on lovelyseasonscomeandgo and commented:
    worth a try

Leave a Reply

