Skip to content

Breadmixer Playdough

October 14, 2012
bread mixer playdough

Note to Self: That question on the flu shot form that states, “Do you currently have a cold?” Don’t mark “NO” when you are in the doctors office being seen for  a cold and just want to get the shot over with so you don’t have to make another trip into the doctors office.

It will be one miserable weekend. 

I’m feeling a bit better than I did the past few days, but am not back to 100% yet. I missed my long run on Saturday and am antsy to get back to running but know that it will take awhile. I hate getting sick.

I’ve avoided being sick for the most part. After one round of antibiotics with my son and husband, and two with the toddler I thought I was home free. Just to make sure I Airborned, Zicamed, Actived, and Doterra On Guarded through it all. And I did well. Maybe a day or two of sniffles, but nothing major.

But sometimes, I think you are just meant to be sick. It’s been amazing to watch my husband and kids do service for their sick Mom.

For instance, Saturday morning the toddler woke up and through the baby monitor I heard,
“Mom’s sick, let’s change the baby’s diaper for her to help her out.”

Shuffle, shuffle, “Ewwwww, quit moving baby!!!”

“Here, throw it away!”

“No, YOU throw it away!”

“I’m trying to change her diaper, but she won’t quit moving!!”

“Fiiiiiine. I’ll do it. Ewwwww, gross!!”

“Your supposed to fold it up so it’s not so gross, but I don’t know how. At least it’s not poopy.”

I really,  really could have left the room to save them. But part of me was laughing so hard, and the other part kept telling myself that they needed this opportunity.

Unfortunately, they don’t want another opportunity to change a diaper again. But it was appreciated. I got to lay in bed an extra 3 1/2 minutes until my toddler found me.

I’m taking a mediation class for school this semester and am absolutely loving it. For one of our presentations, we had to come up with a unique handout. Rather than doing candy, I decided to make cement, since I was talking about the written statement being the ‘cement’ of the mediation session.

I made cement in my bread maker. But it was really play dough.

 

We kneaded in some sand we had outside afterwards to give it more of a cement look. The kids took the rest to play with. This idea also would work great for a school election. Another girl in our neighborhood used this idea for her campaign. You can find the cups at restaurant supply stores for very inexpensive. We just glued on the statement to the front of the 1 oz cups.

I will absolutely make the breadmaker play dough again. It was simply and easy and so much better than trying to make it over a stove and cooking it.
bread mixer playdough

 

Bread Mixer Playdough

1 1/4 cup water

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp oil

Approximately 3 cups flour

Natural food coloring, glitter, etc. for dough

In your bread machine (or mixer with dough hook attachment), place all ingredients. Mix for approximately five minutes on the dough setting for a bread maker or low speed if using a mixer. Continue mixing until all flour is absorbed and a soft ball forms.

Note: Depending on altitude, you may need to add more flour or water. Add one tablespoon at a time for best results.

Store in the fridge in an airtight container for up to two weeks or in an air tight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Related Links: 

Gingerbread Playdough by Burnt Apple

Miss Brittany’s Organic Playdough by Miss Brittany

Natural Food Coloring for Playdough by My Organic Baby

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

