Skip to content

Back to School Blueberry Salsa

August 22, 2012
blueberry salsa, back to school

I’m starting off the week a little depressed.

I crunched the side of the car this weekend. We’re okay, but my pretty car isn’t. I must remember that cement barriers always win. Financially and when it comes to the car. I love that the claims rep asks me if there was any damage to the barrier. Really? Not at 10 miles an hour. I’m pretty sure that the cement won on that one.

And yesterday school started for the kids. Growing up, school always started in September. I just can’t seem to wrap my head around school starting in summer. The kids are excited and I’m running around like crazy trying to finish shopping. (Yes, in my depressive haze I wait until the last minute to school shop. I HATE facing reality). I just don’t think that summer is long enough. I haven’t been able to do everything that I want to do with my kids yet. There are still plenty of swim days left in the year!

But I have to face the fact that my time with the kids, precious that it is, is coming to an end. They are excited to see friends, catch up and hang out. And learn, although my 7 year old says it gives him a headache and he much prefers recess over studying. (Recess was my favorite subject too).

If you hate summer ending like I do, grab yourself some of this blueberry salsa and chips, a good book and a box of Kleenex.

What my kids think I do all day while they are gone:

What I wish I could do while they are gone (+ sleep):

blueberry salsa, back to school

What I actually did: Ran errands, chased baby, laundry and dishes. Fun.

Blueberry Salsa

1/2 cup blueberries, chopped

1/2 cup blueberries, whole

5 strawberries, cut into pieces

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced (for a milder salsa, reduce it to 1/2 a jalapeno)

1 tsp lime zest

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 tsp salt

In a bowl, mix together the ingredients until well combined. Serve with cinnamon chips or tortilla chips.

*Stacy’s makes cinnamon pita chips.

Related Links:

Pomegranate Orange Salsa by Burnt Apple

Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips by Our Best Bites

Blueberry Lime Salsa by How Sweet It Is

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

