Skip to content

‘Pick Your Poison’ Cheese Tortellini and Chicken Dinner

July 2, 2012
pick your poison dinner

Some days, I’ve had it.

HAD IT UP TO HERE!!

Getting that off my chest just made me feel soooo much better. It’s hard having kids underneath your feet all day. You feel like you never get a break. Wait, you don’t.

With my baby into everything lately, a son who uses my house as his construction zone, and an older daughter who has turned our living room into her dance and costume studio I feel like I don’t have a place anymore for me. Anywhere I go…they are there. Wanting to know when lunch will be ready, telling me that they are hungry, wanting to know what they can do because they are bored, wanting to go swimming (right.now.), hating the chores I am making them do, thinking it’s unfair that I made them unplug the XBox and TV –so can they play games on my phone instead?-And then comes dinner and the chorus of, “I don’t like this.”

The other night, I had it. (See ‘had it up to here’ above).

So, I started making a recipe that I thought the kids would like. As I continued making it, I began thinking that Cowgirl would fight me on the spices I used, Wii Man would be mad that I used spaghetti sauce (he’s on spaghetti sauce strike), and Monkey would probably not eat anything anyway. Most of her food lately goes to the floor or the dogs who incessantly sit and beg under her high chair.

I decided that they could figure out their own dinner. I would make the base, and they could figure out what sauce they wanted. I called it “Pick Your Poison” dinner. I thought it was a brilliant name. They just rolled their eyes. Except Monkey. She just clapped her hands together and smiled.

The kids and husband had four different types of sauces to choose from. It was fun watching them dip a tortellini into a different sauce, or combine sauces to experiment with which one they liked the best.

pick your poison dinner

Mmm!! The perfect dinner for a warm summer night!

Pick Your Poison Cheese Tortellini and Chicken Dinner 

Serves 4

1 pound package cheese tortellini pasta, cooked according to package directions

2 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite sized pieces

3 tbsp chopped fresh basil, or 1/2 tbsp dried basil

1 clove garlic, minced

3 green onions, finely chopped

SIDES:

1 cup grape tomatoes, halved

Spaghetti sauce

Olive oil

Balsamic vinigarette

Creamy italian dressing

Cook your pasta according to the package directions. Pour cooked and drained pasta into a large bowl with the chicken and toss with basil, garlic and onion. Set aside.

In four small bowls, put the dressings (spaghetti sauce, olive oil, balsamic and creamy italian). Put spoons in each and allow those eating to serve up pasta then desired sauce.

Related Links:

Pick Your Poison Creamy Enchilada Casserole by Just a Pinch

Pick Your Poison Cupcakes by Wilton

Poison Burgers by Dinner: A Love Story

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

