Skip to content

Homemade Jello

May 23, 2012
tags: ,
jello

Growing up, I never had a Jello salad.

jello

In fact, the first time I ever had a Jello salad was sitting around the table of my future in laws. I didn’t know that they would be my future in laws then. Back then, my husband and I were dating and being a poor starving college student I loved having the invite to enjoy a good home cooked meal. It came at a cost though. My husband’s sisters grilled me about my plans for their brother and I.  ‘How long have you been dating?’, ‘Are you dating seriously?’, ‘Has he told you about _____________ (bad habit) he has?’ His little brother was easy in comparison to the girls. Being 10 at the time, I could just bring him a bag of candy or kick a soccer ball with him in the backyard and he didn’t mind having another girl hanging around.

I didn’t really like the taste of Jello, but when you’re starving and only eat a good meal once every other week, it tasted gourmet! I didn’t eat Jello much until I had kids. Reading the back of the label was scary. So many preservatives and artificial flavors

This summer enjoy a healthy, natural Jello treat!

Homemade Jello

4 cups fruit juice (See notes at end of recipe)

2 .25 oz unflavored gelatin packets

1 tbsp honey or sugar (only use if using less sweet fruit juices like orange)

8 4 ounce juice glasses

In a bowl, place one cup of fruit juice. Sprinkle the two gelatin packets over the fruit juice and stir to combine. In the microwave or over the stove, bring the remaining three cups of fruit juice to a boil. Add to the gelatin and juice mixture in the bowl and stir until the gelatin dissolves completely. Pour the mixture up to the top of each juice glass. Refrigerate until the jello becomes firm–approximately 4-6 hours.

Serves 8.

*Juice: You can use fresh squeezed juice or pulp filled juice. Avoid 100% mango, papaya or pineapple juices. For this recipe, I used V8 Strawberry Banana Fusion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

