Skip to content

Operation Organization Friday: Kids School Organizer Boards for Under $3!

March 2, 2012

Yes, it’s a little different post today. I wanted to share some things going on in the kitchen, but not necessarily related to food. Well, kindof.

The kitchen got a little out of control. Actually the  kitchen was a disaster. It got to the point that I didn’t know what I had anymore, and it took me forever to find “it”–“it” being what I was trying to look for in the first place but then finding the five or six other things I had been looking for earlier that week. But being stubborn (or lazy–I HATE organizing!) I put off the project for a lot longer than I should have.

Thanks to my new found addiction to Pinterest, I was able to find some great project ideas.

The one that I liked the best is this wipe off board for the kids. They love writing messages to each other on it every morning. I love that spelling words are easily accessible and not just scattered around the counters anymore. All of those little school papers now have a place.

If you want larger sized frame ideas, scroll down to related links. I loved the larger boards, but the space in my kitchen didn’t allow for them. One day I’ll have a big enough house for them.

Have a great weekend everyone…it’s off to San Francisco I go!

The project itself only took a couple of hours with a total cost of only $10. (Or roughly $3 per child). For this project you will need:

8×10 inch frame

Ribbon

3 different colored scrapbook papers (1 light enough to be seen with a white board marker, 1 dark colored paper, 1 patterened paper)

Binder clips

Hot glue gun

White board markers

Dissassemble the frame, leaving the glass intact. On your light 8 1/2 x 11 inch scrapbook paper place a black and white picture of your child. Glue to a dark colored paper to accent and then cut out. On a third piece of paper, stamp name of child and attach to patterned colored paper, then onto dark accented paper. Cut out, glue onto light colored paper. Arrange picture and child’s name on paper and glue onto light colored paper.

Place paper inside glass, reassemble frame. Measure ribbon horizontally to frame and cut. Using a hot glue gun, place a dime sized amount of glue on the back side of the frame. Attach ribbon to glue and allow to set for approximately 30 seconds.

Attach binder clip, hang entire frame. It’s…a lot easier than my instructions for sure!

Related Links:

16×20 inch Children’s Organizer Boards by Delightful Order

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

