Skip to content

Operation Organization Friday: Getting Started

February 10, 2012

If you’ve ever come into my house, it looks nice. Clean, but lived in. Toys scattered around, book bags on the floor. Shoes, etc. It’s not my “dream” house — I don’t even know what that looks like! but it’s sufficient for our family.

My husband and I have spent the last five years gutting the house and remodeling. The house has had a head to toe makeover. The largest project? Our kitchen remodeling. And it bothers my husband that he opens a kitchen drawer and finds it disorganized. Or that I have to take every spice off of the spice shelves before I find the one I need.

So I decided that I was going to organize my house. With a possible job change and move for our family on the horizon, it’s time to get the house in order. The next few Fridays I will share some simple and inexpensive ways to organize your house from head to toe.

Port Credit Townhome contemporary bathroom
contemporary bathroom design by toronto interior designer Avalon Interiors

For me it was hard to find ideas both when we remodeled and now as I organize the house. One of my favorite sites (besides hours spent on Pinterest) was Houzz. I had a hard time knowing where to get started and how I wanted things to end up looking by the end of my project.  There were endless amounts of pictures, project ideas, and finished project looks that fit every budget. It is like Pinterest for housing projects. You can create your own board and browse from over $250,000 pictures. They even include links to where you can buy or make the project. (Great for us less crafty people). The kitchen remodel went smoothly thanks to some easy ideas from Houzz. And now my “Operation Organization” is running smoothly too!

Don’t forget to leave me your Pinterest link so I can follow you and all of your great project ideas! You can follow me here to get a sneak peek of all my upcoming projects.

Disclaimer: I was compensated for my time in sharing my opinion, however, my opinions were my own. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

