Skip to content

Chocolate Strawberry Trifle

February 8, 2012

Valentine’s Day is now less than a week away. Do you know what you will be getting your Valentine? Growing up, I didn’t really like Valentine’s Day. It wasn’t a big deal, and even today I don’t really celebrate it with my husband. Our anniversary is a week and a half before Valentine’s Day and that in my opinion is to be celebrated.

My favorite part of Valentine’s Day has to be the brightly colored treats, the excitement in my children’s faces as they bring Valentine’s to school, and hearing all about their parties and who sent who an “I like you” Valentine at school.

Of course, my very favorite part of Valentine’s Day is an excuse to indulge in one of my favorite treats–chocolate covered strawberries. I made this trifle to combine some of my favorite ingredients. Cream, strawberries and chocolate. It’s quick and easy to make, yet looks elegant. Chocolate Strawberry Trifle 

2 cups brownies or chocolate cake, cubed

12 strawberries, sliced

4 whole strawberries

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Whipping cream

On low heat, melt chocolate chips. Dip whole strawberries into the chocolate until the strawberry is 2/3 of the way covered in chocolate. Allow to set up and harden on the waxed paper. For a more elegant look, dip the tops of each glass in the melted chocolate and allow chocolate to harden before filling.

In two glasses, layer 1/2 cup of chocolate brownies or cake in each glass. Top with a layer of strawberries, then a layer of whipped cream. Top with remaining chocolate cake, strawberries and whipped cream. Shortly before serving, place chocolate dipped strawberries on top of the trifle.

Serves 2.

Leave a Reply

