Skip to content

Fruit Filled Grilled Cheese

January 16, 2012

Welcome to mornings at my house. would you like cold or hot cereal?

After morning after morning of cereal, I got tired and needed something different. For some strange reason I started craving a grilled cheese sandwich. Wanting something a little more “grown up” I decided to throw together this quick and easy grilled cheese sandwich. I also had it for lunch too. It was that good.

Really, it’s perfect for breakfast, lunch, a “breakfast for lunch” dinner or even dessert.

Fruit Filled Grilled Cheese Sandwich

2 pieces whole wheat bread

1 oz (1-2 tbsp) reduced fat cream cheese

1-2 tbsp organic strawberry jam

Fruit of your choice: Blackberries, blueberries, or strawberries (I used blackberries this time)

Butter, softened

Heat a large pan or griddle to medium high heat. Butter one side of each slice of bread evenly. Spread an even layer of cream cheese on the non buttered side of bread. Top with a small layer of jam. Slice and assemble fresh fruit evenly over the top of the jam. Place sandwich together. Grill on each side of sandwich for approximately two minutes or until bread becomes golden brown. Flip sandwich and grill on the other side. Remove sandwich from heat, cut and enjoy while warm.

Related Links:

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Grilled Cheese by Incredible Edible Egg

Breakfast Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Maple Syrup by Closet Cooking

Grilled Cheese and Chicken Breakfast Sandwich by Boldsky

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 4:23 pm

    What a great idea! My kids would be excited to eat that before school!
    megan
    bake-aholic.com

  2. April 12, 2012 7:29 pm

    Hi, I’m writing an article for the Des News about food bloggers and grilled cheese sandwiches 🙂 It’s national grilled cheese month! Can I use this recipe and photo? If so, please email me a jpeg of it. Of course, I will credit you and your blog. Thanks!! Karen

  3. May 8, 2012 6:13 pm

    Looks delicious, I will definitely have to try this recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Alternatives to Peanut Butter « Burnt Apple
  2. Drool « …so I did it myself
  3. grilled cheese sandwich | Parent Society
  4. Top 10 Favorites | Burnt Apple
  5. Things I’ve pinned: the grilled cheese edition | Slow cooker recipes

Leave a Reply

