Skip to content

Baby Biscuits

January 13, 2012

As baby grows so begin the days of trying to figure out what to feed her on a daily basis. With my first two, I had to work and  the lovely daycare teachers were always helpful in telling me when to feed my babies certain foods. But working from home means it’s now my job to figure out what to feed her and when. I’ll admit…I have felt like a new parent over again.

When I taught a class on baby foods several years ago I was given the opportunity to review a book called Baby Bistro. I love the recipe box and book style format Baby Bistro provides. I also love the use of organic foods. They provide great recipes and feeding ideas for every age baby is at. Today I’m sharing a recipe for oatmeal baby biscuits. My baby loves them!

If you want more information on Baby Bistro or for ordering information, click here. Also scroll down to the “Related Links” to view other great sites that offer help for making, freezing and preparing baby food from scratch.

OATMEAL BABY BISCUITS

Adapted from Baby Bistro

1/4 cup regular or ground oats (I used baby oatmeal cereal)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tbsp butter or Earth Balance butter alternative

1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp brown sugar

1/3 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter or butter alternative until the mixture becomes a coarse meal. Stir in the buttermilk and mix until the dough is moist. Sprinkle 1-2 tbsp flour on a cutting board. Knead the dough 10 times, then roll dough into 1/2 inch thickness. Cut the biscuits into quarters. Place on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes or until the biscuits become lightly browned. Cool and serve in baby bite sized pieces.

Makes 4 biscuits.

Note: The biscuits can also be frozen and taken out of the freezer when read to use.

Related Links:

What Baby Foods Will/Won’t Freeze by BurntApple

Organic Baby Food by Wholesome Homemade

Organic Baby Food Recipes by Love to Know Organic

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

