Skip to content

Edible Marzipan Nativity

December 19, 2011

The holidays are my favorite time of year. Finals are over and I am excited to have time with the children and spend the week enjoying holiday themed activities together. They are so excited about Christmas. Today my son told me he was “stressed out” because he ONLY had seven days to get his sister a present and wrap it.

Tonight we kicked off the week by making our own edible nativity. We had a great time. You will need graham crackers, frosting, marzipan, and coconut to make your nativities. You can find all the recipes and patterns for making your own nativity by clicking here.  We opted to NOT make the gingerbread pattern and instead improvised by using regular graham crackers.

See how nice his nativity looked? Seconds later it came crashing down, and his poor manger looked like this:

He decided he needed to reinforce the walls, so his final creation turned out something like this:

And if you are like my daughter and want a “coconut free manger because it’s disgusting” manger, well then here you go:

Before I sign off, just a tip for the marzipan. Make sure to have a small bowl of water handy. The kids found it easier to mold with when they dipped their fingers in water to moisten them first before trying to mold with it.

I just had to take a picture. I love all the flecks in the marzipan. I also love sneaking a taste or two. I opted for the egg replacer version instead of the egg white version just so I could try a little bit. 🙂 Remember you can find all of the instructions and recipes you’ll need right here.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2011 7:58 pm

    BRILLIANT! I’d planned on making gingerbread houses, but I love this idea even more. Brings the true meaning of Christmas into our activities! Thanks!!

  2. December 20, 2011 11:04 pm

    Your kids are so lucky to have a fun mom like you!

Leave a Reply

