Skip to content

Key Lime Thumbprint Cookies

August 12, 2011

It hit me like a ton of bricks. Lime. Craving.

I had to have lime. I usually opt for these lime and coconut sugar cookies  but I wanted something a little bit different this time.

So I went to the internet in search of a cookie to satisfy my lime craving. And I found them in this key lime thumbprint cookie recipe. They are the perfect cookie for the “dog” days of summer.

Speaking of dogs, I’m now nursing some sad looking bruises on both my chins–courtesy of my big lab and her desire to join the dog party in the water. We were at Bridal Veil Falls. All of us got a bit of a craving for the outdoors the other day. The kids and I are used to hiking, biking and spending lot’s of time up the canyon during the summer so this summer has been rough with the new baby. I packed up the dog, the kids and myself and headed for the canyon. There is a beautiful pool at the end of the falls–perfect for kids. The kids can climb up on rocks, and even part of the falls, or enjoy wading through the rocks and pool at the end of the fall. Of course, plenty of dogs come to converse and play too. Perhaps my dog was too excited to be out in the great outdoors again. Or perhaps she was too excited to see some friends and water. As I sat on the boardwalk with the baby and dog, our dog suddenly decided she wasn’t going to sit on the sidelines anymore. She was going to join the fun. She leaped off the boardwalk, over some large boulders and into the pool to say hi to those dogs enjoying the middle of the pool together.

She forgot I was on the other end of the leash. All 90 pounds of her dragged me like a rag doll off the boardwalk. Only I didn’t have time to get the memo about the boulders and my chins crashed into them.

Some people laughed. Some people asked if there was anything they could do for me. One lady watched the baby while I ran into the water after my dog. I didn’t know how badly I was hurt because luckily the water is a warm 60 degrees at least. I tried to pull together all of my dignity and act cool while I pulled the dog away from her new friends.

She wasn’t so happy about leaving the party. I pulled her and almost landed in the water again when I slipped on a rock. Dignity and respect? Ha! Out the window.

I couldn’t feel the pain until I got out of the water and my legs weren’t numb anymore. And then I felt the burning. but today? Even worse. Black, blue and red.

The kids and husband just laughed. Even I got a laugh about it. These type of mishaps are just part of my normal everyday routine. I’m sporting a beautiful leg bruise that I have no idea how I got. And one on my forearm from running into the door handle in the middle of the night. How I ever played sports as a decent player when I was a kid is beyond me.


Key Lime Thumbprint Cookies

From Food Network

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup key lime juice
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups prepared key lime curd, recipe below
1 cup powdered sugar, for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and the lime juice, mixing until well blended.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Gradually add the flour mixture to butter mixture until incorporated. Dough should be stiff but not dry. Shape into 1-inch balls, pressing thumb into the center of the balls to make an indentation. Be careful not to press through to the bottom! Fill indentations with about 1 tablespoon of the key lime curd.

Bake for 15 minutes,or until lightly brown. Transfer to a wire cooling rack to finish cooling. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Key Lime Curd

From Good Eats n’ Sweets.com

3 eggs
6 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup white sugar
2/3 cup key lime juice
1-2 tsp key lime zest

In a saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Add the remaining ingredients, adding the eggs last to avoid curdling. Slowly increase heat to medium-low. Whisk the mixture continuously for approximately 8-10 minutes or until the mixture becomes custard like. Remove the mixture from the heat and continue whisking for another 1-2 minutes.

Allow the mixture to cool and then pour into an airtight container or jar. Refrigerate to allow mixture to cool. The curd will thicken as it cools. Makes approximately 2 cups curd.

(You may half the amount of curd mixture to make the cookies. I only ended up using about 1 cup of the curd mixture).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

