Skip to content

Good-For-You Orange Julius Pie

July 29, 2011

I’ve had to be very creative this summer with sweets since chocolate is out of the question. The little one has developed reflux and now any foods that might irritate her delicate stomach are out of the question.

It has not been easy.

And I hate to admit that i have snuck a few bites here and there.

But I’ve largely made sure I’ve spent a great deal of money at Red Mango on their Pomegranate frozen yogurt. I’m justifying my obsession by saying she needs the probiotics. However, just as I stopped going by telling myself I needed to save money, they came out with White Peach. Now I’m in trouble again. (No, Red Mango does not know I’m posting my own personal endorsement for them. This is my own doing and although I would LOVE it if they saw this and gave me free Red Mango for a year, I’m not thinking it’s going to happen anytime soon).

So instead we’ll talk oranges. One of my favorite treats as a kid was Orange Julius. I didn’t get a lot of treats growing up so the ones I did enjoy I have a pretty strong connection with.

If you love the taste of a good Orange Julius on a hot summer day you should try this healthy frozen pie version.

Orange Julius Pie

Ingredients

1 homemade or store bought low fat graham cracker crust

1 pint vanilla frozen yogurt (I used Stonyfield Organic), softened

1 pint orange sorbet or sherbet, softened

Whipped topping like TruWhip or heavy whipping cream

In the graham cracker crust, pour entire pint of vanilla frozen yogurt. Spread evenly over the bottom of the pie crust. Spread the orange sorbet or sherbet evenly over the yogurt. Wrap entire pie and freeze for 4-5 hours or until hard. Remove pie from freezer, cut and serve with whipped topping.

Makes 12 slices with 188 calories and 39 carbohydrates per serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

