Skip to content

Fruit Popsicles

June 1, 2011

I’ve found that sometimes fruit popsicles are harder than they look to make. I’ve tried some that the fruit falls to the bottom of the pop. Others, there is too much juice and they melt too fast, creating a HUGE mess. Others have a bitter taste to them, and the kids refuse to eat them. Not sure why, just passing along what they say.

I bought three or four popsicle molds at $1 a piece from Family Dollar. Depending on the size of the mold you buy will also depend on how many of these you’ll make. Mine are a little smaller and seem to make more. Mine are just ordinary old popsicle molds, but you could use some fun ones too.

Jewel Popsicles Similar to Ring Pops (Great for Girls)

Twisted Ice Pop Molds (Perfect for Older Kids)

Rocket Pop Popsicle Molds (Love this for my Little Boy!)

Popsicle Mold with Straw Sipper for Spills (Love this for Toddlers and Preschoolers)

These popsicles are delicious!! Just the right amount of juice and fruit and NO SUGAR!!! With an added bonus of only 30 calories per popsicle for you.

The kids have loved them and I love that they cost less to make than those fruit pops you buy at the store. There are so many combinations you could try, but I listed two here: Tropical and Peach Mango. Because of my recent fruit and grape pregnancy addiction, I have eaten these religiously lately.

I have been told that Old Orchard has an organic peach mango juice, but I was unable to find any at my local stores. Instead, I opted to use the V8 Light Fusion juice. Lakewood Organics has a strawberry banana juice that is delicious but my local store was out!! So, yup, I used V8 Light Fusion juice again. I prefer the good fresh squeezed stuff. Tastes soooo good!!

Tropical Fruit Popsicles

2 cups strawberry banana juice

1 8 oz can unsweetened crushed pineapple, drained

1 cup fresh strawberries, leaves and stem removed or 1 cup frozen strawberries, thawed

1 medium banana, peeled

Mango Peach Popsicles

2 cups mango peach juice

1 cup fresh mango or 1 cup frozen mango, thawed

1 cup fresh peach slices or 1 cup frozen peaches, thawed

1 medium banana, peeled

Instructions

Place ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth (approximately 30-45 seconds). Pour puree into popsicle molds and place into freezer.

Nutrition: (per 1/4 cup pop)  30 calories, 7 gm carbs, 8 mg sodium

 

Leave a Reply

