Skip to content

Beef Stew, EW!

March 9, 2011

There is a reason I don’t post a lot of beef recipes. I am not a beef fan at all–but my husband is. The worst, WORST beef recipe for me is beef stew. There is something about the flavor combination and the smell going through the room that just makes me sick. But for some people, beef stew is one of the best smells in the world.

I’ve learned that marriage is a lot about sacrifice though. And so once or twice a year I make a beef stew for my husband. This is the recipe that we use. If you can top this recipe, please let me know!! I’m always willing to see if I can top the stew I made before.

BEEF STEW

2 pounds cubed beef or buffalo stew meat

3 tbsp olive oil

2 cups low sodium beef broth

2 cups water

3 red potatoes, cut and cubed

3 carrots, cut into 1 inch pieces

4 celery stalks, cut into 1 inch pieces (optional)

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 packet McCormick Beef Stew Seasoning (or 1 tsp rosemary, 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp black ground pepper)

In a crockpot, combine all ingredients. Cook on high for 4-5 hours, or on low 6-8 hours. Serve with biscuits or a salad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 3:35 pm

    You would have hated the smell of my beef stew :). I made it with Whey instead of beef broth, so the whole kitchen was a creamy beefy smell. It was glorious.

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      March 10, 2011 8:55 pm

      My husband would love to come over next time you make this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

