Skip to content

Chicken Bake

March 2, 2011

Ever had a Costco chicken bake? I’m not a fan of them, but many people I know are. My husband loves them as snacks or for a quick lunch. But I knew that I could make it healthier and better for our family.

With our family busier than ever with school, extracurricular activities, and work it’s never not busy at our house. If I’m not studying, I’m working. If I’m not working, I’m…cleaning or cooking or working. You know, a typical Mom’s life.

But we get a lot of laugh’s in too. This picture has been a hot topic at our house. My daughter posted a “no boys allowed” sign on her door. Her brother didn’t like that sign and decided that he would add his own sign. It looked like this:

I died laughing when I saw this posted on the door. If you can’t read it, he crossed out the “No Boys Allowed” sign and posted instead, “No Girls Allowed, Not One! Boys Allowed. HaHa.”

The joys of girls and boys.

Today I made an easy meal that doubles as a quick and easy lunch or a fun dinner. I found it on the Pillsbury site. While I’m not a fan of refrigerated biscuits, I was able to find the Simply Pillsbury Biscuits that contain more natural ingredients instead of the Pillsbury Grands that the original recipe called for. So here it is:

CHICKEN BAKE

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp whole wheat or unbleached all purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 cups cooked, cubed chicken

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup cooked, chopped broccoli (optional)

1 1/4 cups 2% shredded cheddar cheese

1 can (8ct) Pillsbury Simply Biscuits

1 egg, beaten

1 cup crushed cornflakes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in the salt, pepper, and flour. Blend well with a whisk. Add milk and continue to stir with whisk until the mixture comes to a boil and begins to thicken. (Approximately 1 minute). Stir in chicken and cheese and set aside for later use.

In the meantime, roll or pat dough into a five inch circle. Spoon about 1/4-1/3 of the mixture onto each biscuit. Wrap the dough around the chicken mixture, pressing the edges to seal them. Lightly form each chicken bake into an oval shape.

Dip each chicken bake into the egg and then roll in cornflakes. Place in a 9×13 inch pan or ungreased cookie sheet. Repeat flattening and rolling each biscuit and forming chicken bakes until they are ready to go into the oven.

Bake each chicken bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until the bakes become golden brown.

To freeze: After baking each chicken bake, allow bakes to cool slightly before placing in a Ziploc freezer bag. Freeze. To reheat, cook in microwave oven for approximately 1 1/2-2 minutes or reheat in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes until heated thoroughly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 5:31 pm

    lol.. too cute! My kids post signs on their doors all the time!

Trackbacks

  1. Superbowl Recipes | Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

