Skip to content

Valentine’s, Shmalentines…

February 14, 2011

I’ve never been a big fan of the holiday personally. Overhyped, and undeserving in my opinion. But some people really like Valentine’s Day. Like the kids. They get parties at school, candy from class mates, and pink pancakes.

Yes, I said that right. Natural pink pancakes.

I first saw them on Super Healthy Kids blog. And I was sold. Almost. They contained beets, and beets and I don’t have a great background. I loathe the smell of beets from years of working at the hospital. One day a week the lunches for patients served slimy beets. You could smell the trays coming a mile away. It stunk the entire floor up like stinky slimy beets. And fancy that no one ate them–not even the patients swearing they loved beets.

But I went ahead and made them. And they were delicious pancakes!! (Couldn’t taste the beet at all once the pancake was dipped in syrup). And since the kids have never had beets, they liked the pancakes and didn’t know what the “secret” ingredient I put in was supposed to taste like. My son said they tasted like peanut butter pancakes.

Try them for yourself! Head on over to Amy’s blog for her pink pancake recipe, or scroll down for some unique Valentine’s Day desserts for your loved one.

Valentine’s Cake in a Jar Recipe

Cocoa Fudge Ice Cream Sandwiches

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 6:37 pm

    Hooray! I’m glad the kids ate them! Happy Valentines Day!

Leave a Reply

