Skip to content

Superbowl Detox Day

February 7, 2011

The Superbowl is the biggest day for food in our house. My husband and I have negotiated that it’s a day that he can eat what he wants without me sneaking in anything “healthy.”

So I didn’t.

I made pigs in a blanket for the kids. You know, those disgusting hot dogs wrapped in cheese, encased in a crescent or biscuit blanket. I had one bite, because my husband feels that the baby gets anything I eat and wants to make sure the babe gets healthy and “normal” people food as he calls it.

I spit it out. I’ve never had anything that disgusting before in my life. But the kids devoured them.

I made our chicken nacho recipe, pigs in a blanket, goo cake, and cupcakes with “football” frosting. We also had bean dip and chips.

No vegetables. No fruit. Per the request of the man of the house.

I missed my vegetables and fruit. Because today I feel like a tanker truck ran me over. Amazing how one day of bad eating will change the way your body feels.

Oh, and I’m sure that you are just as anxious to know what we are having: WE DON’T KNOW!!! The tech leaned towards girl, but couldn’t give us a definite answer. So now we have to wait another few weeks to find out.

Instead of being depressed, I’m going to share these great light and easy recipes for getting you feeling better again post Superbowl:

BREAKFAST

Quinoa Fruit Salad….MMMM!!!!

LUNCH

Grilled Peach and Chicken Salad

Grilled Vegetable and Pasta Salad

DINNER

Ginger-Orange Dinner Bake

Quinoa Veggie Bean Salad

Italian Meatball (or Meatless Soup)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

