Skip to content

The Tenth Day: Cheeseball Tackled

December 22, 2010

I’ll admit it. I’ve never made a cheese ball–ever. They just looked intimidating. And my husband only wants one type of cheese ball made at the holidays. His Mom’s recipe. Since we had a luncheon we were hosting at our house this past weekend, I decided to tackle it and serve it as an appetizer at our luncheon.

I won’t lie though. It was a lot of pressure. First, I knew my husband wouldn’t like it unless it tasted like the traditional cheese ball he was used to having. And second, my mother in law would be there and I would have to make it pass her inspection too. Oh! The pressure!!

But I found that this was one of the easiest cheese ball recipes ever to make. And it’s perfect for any holiday party.

This recipe uses pimento–a sweet red pepper used a lot in relishes. It can be found next to the olives in the grocery store section. It’s sold in small or larger bottles and runs about $1.89 for a small bottle.

FAMOUS CHEESE BALL RECIPE

6 oz cream cheese

1 8 oz pkg sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

1 medium onion, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped finely

1 small bottle chopped pimento, drained

1 tsp Worcestire sauce

1/2 tsp salt

Dash of cayenne pepper or Tabasco sauce

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Allow cream cheese to warm to room temperature. Put cream cheese and remaining ingredients (minus the pecans) into a large bowl. mix all ingredients well, than form mixture into a ball. roll the ball in the chopped pecans until all sides are evenly coated with the pecans. wrap in plastic wrap and then refrigerate at least overnight. Serve with various assorted crackers.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 3:39 am

    I can understand why you’d feel pressure! Glad it turned out well. We always have the same kind of cheeseball that we’ve always had at my parents’ house, but this year my mom made a new kind of cheeseball—and I loved it!

Leave a Reply

