Skip to content

On the Eighth Day…

December 17, 2010

On the eighth day before Christmas, I really needed a

CANDY THERMOMETER

Why? Because I cannot make toffee. It’s one of my husband’s favorite holiday treats. My mother in law is able to make it without a candy thermometer, but unfortunately for me, I have no idea how to not make it without one. At only $3 I now cannot see why I didn’t buy one before. Instead I let batch after batch after batch go into the burnt pile. (Literally, it was batches and batches).

But once I started investing in my $3 candy thermometers, life got easy. And the toffee turned out. So if you’re unsure like me what toffee is supposed to look like without a thermometer, pick one up before making this fabulously delicious holiday treat!!

English Toffee

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup (approximate) chocolate chips

1/4-1/2 cup chopped walnuts

In a saucepan, place butter, sugar and salt. Melt butter over low heat. After butter has melted, turn heat to medium high and begin to boil. Stir frequently. Place candy thermometer in the pan once toffee has started to boil and cook to a hard crack. (Approximately 150 degrees celsius and 302 degrees farenheit).

Tip: I usually take my toffee off in between the soft and hard crack stage and stir in the vanilla. The toffee will continue to heat when you take it off the burner. By the time you take it off the burner and stir in the vanilla, it will have reached the hard crack stage.

Pour the hot toffee thinly over a sheet of aluminum foil that has been lightly sprayed with nonstick spray. Spread the toffee out with a spatula if needed.

Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the hot toffee and allow the chocolate chips to melt. With a frosting knife, spread the melted chocolate evenly over the toffee. Sprinkle chopped walnuts over if desired (optional).

Allow toffee to cool for at least one hour before breaking into pieces. this allows the chocolate to set up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joni permalink
    December 20, 2010 6:15 am

    Your version looks yummy. I do love English toffee and have been known to make over 24 batches to give away. I use a thermometer on most recipes, but not toffee. I agree that Christmas wouldn’t be complete without toffee. Joni

Leave a Reply

