Skip to content

On the Seventh Day…

December 16, 2010

I made a realization. If I continue my current rate of posting three times a week, I won’t ever complete my twelve days. So, there’s more of me to love because I’m posting more!

(That could be a good or bad thing for you).

Today was our children’s Christmas music program at school. It was great to see them up there. My daughter learned “Silent Night” in Navajo, Spanish and American Sign Language. My son got to ring Christmas bells. And wear a Santa hat. He was in heaven.

Afterwards I stopped by my daughter’s class to tell her she did a great job. Her teacher graciously asked me if I was bringing frosting as I had promised for their class. Frosting?? F-R-O-S-T-I-N-G. Oh yeah. Oops. I told her I would have it whipped up in twenty minutes and have it back to the school.

I ran home and whipped up the most delicious looking Royal Icing for Gingerbread house recipe I had ever seen in my life. Fluffy. White. Precious. It looks so fluffy and yummy. (But tastes ick!!)

Here is the recipe for Royal Icing. And flipping through Vegetarian Times this month, I came across an incredibly great recipe for Vegan Royal Icing. How cool is that? (I opted for the regular Royal Icing recipe for my daughter’s class, but am dying to try the Vegan version for our family gingerbread house). It uses xanthum gum and NO corn syrup!

But here’s the regular royal icing recipe:

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 pound powdered (confectioners) sugar

3 egg whites or egg white replacer

Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl. Mix on high for 10 minutes, or until frosting becomes very, very stiff. To keep until ready to frost gingerbread house, place a damp cloth over the top of the bowl.

Frosts one medium sized gingerbread house.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria Klingonsmith permalink
    December 20, 2010 6:01 pm

    do you have an easy recipe for ganache frosting? i know the ingredients but dont know the measurements for it: chocolate chips and whipping cream.

Leave a Reply

