Skip to content

A Fishy Tale

November 28, 2010

Our weekend was spent offline which was nice. We spent the weekend with family and friends enjoying a wonderful weekend of shopping, visiting, and football watching. It was great and a lot of fun to spend the weekend with everyone. Much needed I must say. You can view those things that I was grateful for this holiday season on our diabetes blog.

When my daughter came home requesting fish sticks fish sticks??? for dinner and broccoli after we got home from our vacation, I checked her temperature. Just to be sure. She wasn’t kidding.

She commented how much she loved fish sticks at school. And all I thought while she was describing to me how much she loved fish sticks is “I can show her better than those fried ones she eat’s at school.”

It’s not an easy thing to do.

1. Fish here in my state now is not the fish I enjoyed while growing up. Living by the ocean, everything was fresh. Really fresh. None of your fish had that “fishy” taste to it. Often we’d eat our fish within an hour or two of it being killed. Nothing is better than that. I haven’t enjoyed fish as much since moving here. And if you want fresh fish, you pay a lot for it.

2. You don’t want to introduce your kids to the “fishy” taste when having them try fish for the first time. They won’t like it, guaranteed. And you might turn them off to fish indefinetely.

3. Fish has so many good qualities to it, and it’s an important part of your diet. We’ve all heard it. Fish is packed with selenium, omega’s and is low in fat.

So I knew that I had my work cut out for me. First, I bought a couple of good cod (you can also use tilapia, but some people have adversions to tilapia). My cost? $9. Ouch! But on sale :)Second, I consulted Eating Well for the recipe. Anything I make from Cooking Light and Eating Well seems to go over well with my family. So of course I would consult them for a fish recipe. (Disclosure: I was not paid by Eating Well or Cooking Light to promote them, although I would love for them to. Hint.)

The kids absolutely devoured them…although their dipping sauce of choice was ketchup and not tartar sauce. But we enjoyed our broccoli and fish stick meal, and I hope you’ll take the time to try some with your family too.

Worried about the price? Try Ian’s fish sticks. At only $4 a box, it is a better savings than the $9 I spent, but it’s hard to find any fish sticks  made with anything other than tilapia or a mix of tilapia and cod.

Healthy Fish Sticks by EatingWell Magazine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 7:09 pm

    Sometimes I crave fish so much here in Utah that I feel a bit crazy 🙂 and it is hard to get good fish! I grew up by the ocean too and then lived in South Florida for years! This is really nicely done – I am going to keep an eye out for cod and try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Top Healthy Kid Friendly Recipes to Start Your New Year « Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

