Skip to content

Muffins to Calm the Nerves

November 10, 2010

I’m having a rough time eating this morning. Why? My son goes in today to get a baby root canal and crown put on. I know, not that scary, right? But if it was your child and you were carrying a cocktail of medications to the dentist office to help sedate your own son, you’d be scared too.

Three syringes full of medication ready to put him to sleep for an hour to two hour long procedure. And the dentist makes you get and carry the medications to the dentist office. And all that goes through your head as a parent is…”what if they have a reaction to the medication?” Or, “what if they stop breathing?” Or, “I can’t believe that three teaspoons of medication is that big!!”

Granted, my medical background tells me that things will be okay. That he will be okay. But my mind can’t help but think about when my husband got his first insulin pump and we watched those vials of insulin make their way down the tubing. Scary. Terrifying moment. I think of the time my son had his tonsils out. what was I? Terrified. my daughter when she had to be sedated to reset a broken arm? where was I? Freaking out internally. So I guess I’m normal, right? When it comes down to the time, I’ll be composed and my medical experience will kick in. I’ll become level headed, and no one will know how much I am freaking out inside. But internally? I’m a Mom. I’ll be freaking out.

I can hardly eat this morning, and these muffins are delicious! I was craving a good muffin. And this one hit the spot. And although they sit on my counter this morning, my stomach has too many butterflies in it to eat them. But you can be sure that I’ll come home after this is over and grab one. Or two.

BERRY BREAKFAST MUFFINS

1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour (whole wheat flour okay)

3/4 cup milk (soy or almond milk for vegans)

1 egg (Use egg replacer for vegans)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 cup coconut or olive oil

1/4 cup honey (for a sweeter muffin, substitute 1/4 cup sugar)

1 cup blueberries, strawberries, raspberries (or any desired combination)

Granulated or raw sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, stir together all ingredients just until incorporated. Fold in fruit. Pour into greased muffin cups. Fill to two thirds of the way full. Sprinkle each muffin with a generous pinch of raw or granulated sugar. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until tops are browned and toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean.

Makes approximately 10 muffins.

*These muffins were made with whole wheat, honey, raw sugar and strawberries and blueberries*

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 1:28 pm

    I’m sorry! That sounds awful. Hope he does well 🙂

  2. Joni permalink
    November 10, 2010 3:29 pm

    I don’t like being put out and my kids never been. I hope things go well. In a children’s book series that I have, they always made muffins on the first day of school — maybe to calm nerves. The muffins look yummy! Joni

  3. November 10, 2010 3:54 pm

    These are beautiful, simple muffins that can definitely soothe the soul…

  4. November 10, 2010 4:33 pm

    I hope all goes well. I’ve had two little ones need surgeries. I know the anxiety you are feeling. The muffins look delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

