Skip to content

Whole Wheat Bread and Cinnamon Butter

October 25, 2010

When my sister in law told me she had found the best whole wheat bread recipe that was ready in under an hour, I laughed. I’ve tried bread recipes–especially whole wheat ones–and it’s impossible. But I told her I would try it and have come to the conclusion that this is the BEST whole wheat bread recipe. I love the addition of flaxseed. I love how well it holds together. And I love the flavor combination. However, I will forewarn you that the dough is really a wet dough. Do not add more flour! You will ruin it. Just trust me on that one. Round 1 didn’t go so well. Round 2 went exceptionally well since I followed the directions and didn’t try to add more flour.

And, the cinnamon butter to top it all off is exceptional! Made with greek yogurt, butter, cinnamon and honey it’s the perfect compliment to the bread.

I hope everyone’s weekend was interesting and a lot drier than mine! I had a great time trying to beat the rain on Saturday. I got the front yard all mowed while my husband turned off the sprinklers. Literally just as I finished mowing the last strip–a downpour that last a couple of hours ensued. As soon as it ended, I ran outside, mowed the backyard and got the garden (mostly) pulled and readyed for winter and another round of rain hit. But I was done.

And just in time. We headed out with some friends for a great dinner and a great baseball game that sent the Giants to the World Series! We also caught a few football games, but the highlight of the night was definetely the baseball game.

Try this bread recipe out, I am NOT kidding when I tell you this is the BEST fast whole wheat bread you will ever eat and make.

QUICK AND EASY WHOLE WHEAT BREAD

5 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup ground flax seed

1 tbsp salt

1 1/2 tablespoons yeast

2 3/4 cup hot water

1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup honey

In a mixer attached with the dough hook, mix all the dry ingredients until ingredients are well incorporated. Add in the wet ingredients and mix for approximately 8 minutes on medium speed. While dough is mixing, grease and flour two loaf pans. When dough is finished mixing, divide amongst the two bread pans evenly. Using a spatula, spread the dough evenly inside the bread pan. Place in a warm oven for approximately 25-30 minutes. Set oven temp to 350 degrees, keeping bread in the oven and allow bread to cook for 25 minutes. To check bread for doneness, insert toothpick in the center. If it comes out clean the bread is done. If not, continue cooking for several minutes longer. Remove from oven and allow to cool down in the pan for several minutes before removing and continuing to cool on wire cooling racks. Wait until bread is just warmer than room temperature before slicing. Serve with flavored butters, use for sandwich bread, or as a side for soup. This bread can be frozen in a freezer bag for up to 2-4 weeks or refrigerated for 1-2 weeks. Can also be left in a bread container for several days before it will need to be moved to the refrigerator or freezer.

CINNAMON BUTTER

 1/2 cup butter, softened

2 tbsp honey (if you use agave, decrease to 1 tbsp)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp Greek plain yogurt (or any brand of plain yogurt is fine)

Whisk all ingredients in a mixing bowl. Turn the mixer to medium speed and whisk until butter mixture becomes light and fluffy. Top on bread or even sweet potatoes!

RELATED RECIPES:

Raspberry Honey Butter by Burnt Apple

Whipped Butter by A Busy Nest

Lavender Butter by Cupcake Project

Leave a Reply

