Skip to content

Spaghetti Pie

October 22, 2010

Our kids L-O-O-O-O-V-E spaghetti. I added the extra O’s for emphasis on how much my kids love spaghetti. It rates right up there with the other kids favorites:

1. Pizza

2. Mac n’ cheese

3. Chicken nuggets Tie: My daughter loves fish sticks as much as chicken nuggets. Go figure…

Your kids list might include a few different things, but I’m sure one or all of these foods probably appears on your child’s list. And your child’s favorite might include spaghetti too.

After weeks and weeks of demands for spaghetti (and the other meals listed above), my husband and I couldn’t look at another bowl of spaghetti. While flipping through my Deceptively Delicious cookbook, I came across this recipe for Spaghetti Pie. I fell in love with this book after my husband threw a temper tantrum one night. –Literally threw a temper tantrum!

“Why can’t we have white pasta anymore?”

“Why are you always trying to force nasty vegetables and fruits down me? I never liked them when we got married, I’m not going to like them now.”

“Can’t a man get a steak around here??”

Men probably are nodding their heads in agreement with my husband. But I’m not. There are countless reasons that I need to try to add vegetables and fruits into our diet. So I sneak ’em in. And he doesn’t notice. I love winning the war.

SPAGHETTI PIE

Adapted from the book, Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld

3 ounces whole wheat spaghetti

1/2 pound lean ground turkey or beef (I opted to let him eat beef since I used the whole wheat spaghetti)

2 cups bottled spaghetti sauce (I used Muir Glen organic)

1 cup nonfat cottage cheese

1/4 cup carrot puree

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

2 tbsp parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9 inch pie plate with cooking spray.

Cook the pasta acccording to to package directions. Drain and set aside.

While the pasta is cooking, brown the turkey or beef until cooked thoroughly and no longer pink. Drain as needed.

In a large bowl, mix the pasta, turkey or beef, tomato sauce, cottage cheese, carrot puree, salt, pepper and mozzarella cheese together. Place in the pie pan and spread evenly. Top with the 2 tbsp of Parmesan cheese. Cook for 20 minutes or until mixture becomes bubbly.

Makes 6 servings

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 11:08 pm

    What a great family dish! Your kids are very lucky!

  2. October 23, 2010 1:12 pm

    this looks great I have never tried to bake spaghetti

  3. October 26, 2010 10:17 pm

    I don’t do dairy, so I’d have to nix the cinnamon butter, but your bread recipe looks great! Thanks for tweeting me your blog, I’ll keep up!

    Jenn—HeVe

    • healthydealsnsteals permalink
      October 27, 2010 3:52 am

      Look under “Recipes.” You’ll see plenty of vegan recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

