Skip to content

The Recipe With the 12 Year Curse

October 6, 2010

Twelve years ago, I came home to find a very, very, very irritated roommate sitting on the couch, glaring at me. When I asked her why our apartment smelled so bad, she gave me an even deeper glare as she sat there, arms folded, legs crossed on the couch. All the windows were open and three bottles of Febreze sat on the counter of the kitchen.

“Why do you think it smells bad in here? Think really, really hard.”

I thought back to that days activities. Homework, chores, cleaning out the kitchen, grabbing the mail, the library, class and making pumpkin chocolate chip bread…oh dear.

“Oh my goodness! I totally forgot! I stuck them in there and ran to the store, but then got hungry and totally forgot about it. Did it catch on fire? Is everything okay? Are you okay?”

Just a glare. And then I started laughing….laughing hysterically! “See, this is why my parents made me move out. I was always doing stupid things like this. At least everyone and everything is okay!”

Still glaring. Which made me just laugh even harder for some reason. I’d never seen her this mad in my entire life. Finally, she told me the story of coming home and having to crawl on hands and knees through the smoke to the oven to find out where the fire was coming from. She opened the oven, and saw the cookie sheet there, flaming.

She poured baking soda on it, turned the oven off and opened all the windows. Then went to the store and bought three bottles of Febreze. Than called the landlord to come and look at the oven the next day.

“I am so sorry. Can I do anything for you? Oh, did you want some pumpkin chocolate chip bread?”

“No Traci. I don’t want to look at pumpkin for awhile. Just buy some baking soda. And some more Febreze.”

Well, it wasn’t cookies, or bread that caught on fire that day. It was my pumpkin seeds that I decided to make after making my pumpkin bread from scratch. I was hungry and decided to make some pumpkin seeds, thinking it would be the perfect snack to munch on while working on homework. And then I forgot that I had to pick up my library book from the library before my class later that afternoon. Thinking I would have enough time to run there and back, I left for campus. But on the way I got really, really hungry since I had been in the kitchen all day. So I stopped and waited in line to grab a smoothie. Than I ran into an old friend who I talked to. And then realized it was time for class. So I ran into my class and when I got home, I was greeted by my really, really angry roommate.

Fast forward twelve years. My husband walks in the door and is greeted by the aroma of cinnamon, butter, and spices from the oven.

“Mmmm, smells good. What’s cooking?”

“Pumpkin seeds!”

Remembering my long ago story he said, “Are you watching them? Do you have the timer set? Have you checked them recently? How long have they been in the oven?”

“Honey, it’s fine!”

“That’s what you said to me last week when you sent me that text about the kitchen fire and the cake.”

(More about that one on Friday).

Needless to say, I broke the 12 year curse tonight. And made some delicious pumpkin seeds that I’m munching on right now!

HALLOWEEN SPICE PUMPKIN SEEDS

Seeds from 1 small pumpkin pie (aka sugar pie pumpkin)

4 tbsp butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp allspice

1. Scoop pumpkin seeds from sugar pie or pumpkin pie pumpkin. For directions on how to scoop out your pumpkin and clean and prepare the pumpkin seeds, click here.

2. Melt butter in microwave or over stove. Stir in cinnamon, allspice, ginger, and salt.

3. Place a layer of aluminum foil over a cookie sheet. Spread pumpkin seeds evenly over the aluminum foil. Pour butter and spices over the pumpkin seeds. Stir until all pumpkin seeds are evenly coated.

4. Bake pumpkin seeds at 275 degrees for approximately 20-30 minutes. Check and stir pumpkin seeds every 5 minutes. Pumpkin seeds are done when they become light brown in color.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 2:57 pm

    What a hoot! So glad everyone and everything was okay.
    This spice mixture sounds great on the seeds. Never have thought of making them taste pumpkin pie like. Thanks for the idea.

  2. October 6, 2010 3:11 pm

    ha, I loved this story! Thanks for making me laugh 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy Meals and food for Healthy Kids » Fall Healthy Meal Plan
  2. Pumpkin Time! | Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

