Skip to content

Lemon Angel Food Cupcakes With Fresh Whipped Fruit Topping

August 25, 2010

I originally saw this recipe on Baking Bites. I thought it sounded absolutely wonderful. But with such a wonderful cupcake, wouldn’t you want something light and fluffy on top? My first thought was to go to a regular whipped topping. But I really wanted the lemony tart flavor to mingle with the sweetness of the fruit. (Don’t I sound so experienced? Joys of being a writer I guess. I can make myself sound like a professional, even if I’m not!)

This week has been full of “last’s.” We enjoyed the last few days of summer before the kids went back to school. (today!–I hate it!) I enjoyed my last few days of summer before I went back to school. The last few weeks of summer have been filled with fun outings, vacations, and trips to grandma’s house. We rushed to stores to buy the last minute school supplies we needed. And hurriedly got into last minute appointments for shots and immunizations and visits to the dentist.

This summer has been a busy one–but a great one. And I’m sorry that it’s come to an end. But I am excited about fall walks in the canyon with the kids and the dog, buying Halloween outfits, hearing how their school day went, and having lot’s of friends come through our house again. It will be great!

Now enjoy those last few moments of summer with these delicious summery cupcakes!

P.S. If you want a more regular whipped topping, head to the related articles below. You’ll find one for a delicious whipped topping that doesn’t have the lemon in it!

LEMON ANGEL FOOD CUPCAKES

3/4 cup superfine sugar, divided
1/2 cup sifted cake flour
5 large egg whites, room temperature
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest of one lemon

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.
In a small bowl, sift together cake flour and 1/4 cup superfine sugar.
In a large bowl, beat room-temperature egg whites until foamy, then add in cream of tartar and salt. Gradually add in the remaining 1/2 cup of superfine sugar while the mixer is on high speed, beating the egg whites to soft peaks. Mix in vanilla and lemon zest. Fold flour mixture into beaten egg whites, adding it in two or three additions.
Divide evenly into prepared muffin tins. The tins should be quite full.
Bake for 16-18 minutes, until golden brown. The tops will spring back when lightly touched.
Cool on a wire rack.

What is superfine sugar? I couldn’t find any at the store, so I put the alloted amount of sugar in a blender and ground it to a super fine consistency. It worked great for me! (But I’m not sure if that was the proper way to do it. But it worked!)

LEMON WHIPPED CREAM

1 tsp lemon zest

Juice of 1 lemon

2 cups heavy whipping cream

3/4 cup powdered sugar

In a bowl, whisk together all ingredients until the mixture begins to take on a whipped cream consistency. Top each angel food cupcake with a dollop of whipped cream than add fresh cut fruit on top. Serve immediately or refrigerate until ready to eat.

Related Articles:

Easy Whipped Cream by Thyme Keeper

Lemon Glazed Angel Food Cupcakes with Raspberries and Cream by Get Off Your Butt and Bake

Blueberry Lemon Angel Food Cupcakes with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting by Bunny’s Warm Oven

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

