Skip to content

Make Your Own Microwave Popcorn

July 27, 2010

I’m still compiling pictures from my little boys party yesterday. I’m excited to share them with you tomorrow! We had a lot of fun and boys are so easy to entertain! They are just extremely hard to keep track of. Girls congregate. They go together in groups. They do everything together. Boys run. Fast. They don’t stay with the same toy or together for very long. They kind of bounce from friend to friend, activity to activity.

In all of the chaos of getting ready for the party I failed to remember snacks!! (Seriously what was I thinking??) Boys eat ALL the time! Since I realized this several minutes before the party started, I went into panic mode. I was doing my make up and flipping through my ReadyMade Magazine (July 2010 edition) when I saw a recipe for making your own homemade microwave popcorn.

Brilliant!

Except that in my heart of hearts (and with my brilliant track record) I really didn’t give this recipe much hope of working out even though it was labeled as simple and easy.

But lo and behold—it worked!!!

First time too might I add… 🙂

Make Your Own Microwave Popcorn

Ingredients

1 brown paper lunch bag

1/2 cup unpopped popcorn kernels

Directions

Place popcorn into the brown paper bag. Gently fold over the top couple of inches of the brown paper bag to seal. Hit “popcorn” setting on your microwave and if it asks, hit the “3.5 oz bag” setting. If your microwave doesn’t have a popcorn setting, set your timer for approximately 1 minute and 40 seconds.

Stay close to the microwave. As soon as the popcorn has stopped popping (or takes several seconds between kernels popping) stop the microwave and remove the popcorn. Butter and salt as desired.

*I reused my bag several times to make multiple batches without a problem*

Related Articles:

Homemade Popcorn by Group Recipes

Popcorn Popping by Make and Takes

Microwave Popcorn Popper by Cooking.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

