Skip to content

Stuffed Gouda and Bacon Pork Chops

May 20, 2010

The next two weeks with school ending are just way too busy. Class parties, field days, dance festivals and finding lost library books have all been at the top of the priority list. Add to that trying to keep things running at home and finishing getting the garden planted and moved and I’m beat. TIRED. Ready to crawl in bed shortly after the kids do at night.

The only thing stopping me? My painful knee. I started noticing the pain in it last week shortly after one of my workouts. I stopped working out for a few days, and just started up this week, but it just continues to want to plague my light duty workouts. And it loves keeping me up at night.

So that’s the reason I’m writing instead of staying warm under the covers. Again the weather has cooled and made getting the garden ready next to impossible. What gives with the weather here this spring?

And then there’s Sunday. I crave a good Sunday meal. My husband and I have very different opinions on what a Sunday meal should be.  To him, it should be a pork roast or something with beef. Mostly a meal centered around meat.

I had some extra gouda left over from another meal I made. And I feel bad letting things go to waste. Wasted food is wasted money. And nothing is a saving if you end up wasting it.

So I did an internet search and came up with these stuffed gouda and bacon pork chops. I know I’ll get some comments on it not being vegetarian or vegan. And I’m sorry. I couldn’t find anyway to take the massive amounts of meat and cheese out of the recipe. Surprisingly though, one pork chop is only 398 calories. And they did turn out looking so nice.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ounces smoked Gouda cheese, shredded
  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1/8 cup chopped fresh parsley or dried parsley
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2  center-cut, bone-in pork chops (boneless pork chops can be substituted)
  • 1 teaspoon olive or canola oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat an outdoor grill to medium heat or preheat skillet on medium on the stove if cooking inside.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the cheese, bacon, parsley, and black pepper.
  3. Lay the pork chop flat on a cutting board. With a sharp knife held parallel to the board, cut a pocket into the pork, going all the way to the bone, but leaving the sides intact. If using a boneless pork chop, cut a pocket, stopping 1/4 inch away from the edge of the pork with the knife. Stuff cheese mixture into pocket, and close with a wooden toothpick. Brush the meat lightly with oil,  season with salt and more black pepper if desired.
  4. If grilling, lightly brush the grill with oil. Grill over medium heat for 5 to 8 minutes on each side, or until pork is done. If cooking inside on a skillet, cooking times and instructions are about the same as outdoor grilling times.

Leave a Reply

