Skip to content

Peanut Truffles–Under 300 Calories!

May 10, 2010

As many of you who read this know, I’ve taken on a new work out. And I’m watching the amount of calories that I’m consuming. As I flipped through my work out booklet, I was surprised (and saddened) to find it included NO desserts!

What the….???

I flipped through again.

No desserts.

Now that’s just not right. What nutrition plan doesn’t include the most important food group of the day? For one, I am made to consume desserts. I NEED my chocolate. I NEED my sweets. At least daily. In a little dose. But I HAVE to have them. Seriously, for me, it’s the most important food group of the day! I look forward to eating healthy all day so I consume a small little dessert at night. It gives me something to look forward to.

So I revamped this so-called nutritional plan. I found I could consume a nice little dessert at night and do it for only 300 calories. But it wasn’t easy. Most included pudding, jello, or some other form of more processed dessert. I didn’t want that. So I came up some of my own, or adapted them from other recipes. You’ll be amazed at what I’ve come up with to enjoy!

I’m not talking about one cookie, or one little chocolate. Because frankly, what’s the point in that? You always want more than one! These are delicious, good desserts. And I hope that you’ll take the time to try them out for yourself in the coming weeks!

Peanut Butter & Pretzel Truffles Recipe

PEANUT BUTTER AND CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES

Adapted from EatingWell.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup crunchy natural peanut butter (if using creamy you may need to increase the amount of pretzels you use by 1/8-1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped salted pretzels
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips, melted

DIRECTIONS

Combine peanut butter and pretzels in a small bowl. Chill in the freezer until firm, about 15 minutes. Roll the peanut butter mixture into 20 balls (about 1 teaspoon each). Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment or wax paper and freeze until very firm, about 1 hour. Roll the frozen balls in melted chocolate. Refrigerate until the chocolate is set, about 30 minutes.

Makes 20 truffles

Per truffle: 64 calories; 4 g fat (1 g sat, 2 g mono); 1 mg cholesterol; 2 g protein; 1 g fiber; 53 mg sodium; 65 mg potassium

Leave a Reply

