Skip to content

Double Chocolate Cookies

May 6, 2010

I had chocolate. I had cocoa. I really wanted double chocolate cookies. I found a number of different recipes that I liked, but didn’t love. Until I fell over this recipe. Claiming to not only be good…but the best double chocolate cookie recipe, ever.

I had to try it. And this recipe encouraged me to “add more chocolate!” (P.S. You’re ALWAYS my favorite when you tell me not to be shy about adding more chocolate).   🙂

P.S. Thanks for some great cookies!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used chopped Baker’s chocolate)

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Place tin foil (shiny side down) on your cookie sheets for baking. I do this even with non-stick cookie sheets…probably just habit but it seems to work for me.

2. In a medium bowl, cream the butter with a hand mixer or wooden spoon until smooth however don’t overbeat.

3. Add the white sugar and brown sugar (if you don’t want your cookies to be too sweet reduce the amount of sugar, I sometimes add 3/4 cup each) Beat with mixer or spoon until smooth.(remember not to over beat!)

4. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix until blended.

5. Sift in the flour, baking soda, salt and cocoa powder; blend together with a wooden spoon until smooth.
*Note- I use the mixer at the start just to get it going and then finish with my hands (washed of course)you want to be careful not to over beat so I recommend just using a wooden spoon or your hands.

6. Stir in the chocolate chips. Now don’t hold back! It may look like you are adding too much but trust me this is the secret to these cookies.

7. Roll tablespoonfuls of dough into balls (about the size of a golf ball) and place them one inch apart onto the prepared cookie sheets.

8. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven.
(Depending on your oven, because my oven gets too hot I lower to 350 and bake for 13 min.)
You can tell when they are done by touching the sides they should be firm but not hard on the side. You don’t want to over bake these cookies, they are better softer.

Some things you can add to the cookies are nuts, walnuts work well. I have used mint chocolate chips. I have also dipped one side of cookie in icing sugar (better if you reduce sugar for this or can be too sweet)

Store the cookies in an air tight container. They are really good heated in the microwave for about 10 seconds just to get the chocolate melted again.

When cooking these cookies, the author stated to place non greased tin foil shiny side down on a cookie sheet when cooking and the cookies would turn out great. Also make the cookie size a little larger than a tablespoon.

Adapted from: All Recipes/http://www.squidoo.com/yummycookies

Leave a Reply

