Skip to content

Meatloaf with Parmesan Potato Pancake

April 26, 2010

I always get the question, “So you must eat like, the most wonderful meals at home, right?”

Ask my kids and you might get words like the meal was “yucky,” “it was good,” or “it was burned.”  They are also young, and don’t like some of the tastes and flavors of some of the different meals I make yet. As they get older, they may or may not, but I like to expose them while they’re young. Gotta try as many bites as your age. Or plug your nose.

My husband is the hard part. My carnivorous organic-phobic husband is often my hurdle when it comes to cooking. A Sunday dinner is meat and potatoes. Period. If it looks green, smells fishy, or has an ingredient he can’t pronounce–gouda and feta are in that category, it’s not for him.

To answer the original question, there are days that we eat really, really good. Like when a cooking class is coming up and I’m trying out different meals. But most days, we eat the meals that you see posted. Kid and family and daddy friendly meals.

This is a typical Sunday dinner for our family. Well, my kids and husband. I usually eat salmon or a salad instead of the beef.

But I thought I would share this recipe with everyone. The Parmesan Potato Pancake comes from Two Peas and Their Pod. I saw her blackened salmon recipe that went with this meal and had to try it. I love salmon, tillapia, halibut (and a good trout in the summer). So I’m always trying new fish recipes. Joys of growing up near an ocean I guess.

This recipe for meatloaf is one that I found in a freezer meal cookbook several years ago. When I make this, it makes two loaves, so I usually cook one that day and put the other one in the freezer to save for another no-fuss Sunday meal.

INGREDIENTS

3 lbs lean ground beef

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tbsp Worchestire sauce or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

2 tsp salt

2 eggs, beaten lightly

1/2-1 cup minced onion

1/2 tsp basil

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1/2 cup skim milk

1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs (2 slices of bread)

1/4 cup all natural or organic ketchup (optional)

DIRECTIONS

Mix all ingredients together by hand in a large bowl until all ingredients are incorporated thoroughly. Divide into two loaves. If cooking that night, preheat oven to 350 degrees and cook, covered with tin foil for 1- 1 1/2 hours or until  meat has cooked fully and is browned.

To freeze: Wrap loaves (or loaf) with freezer foil and freeze until ready to use. To thaw, place loaf in refrigerator to thaw overnight. Bake at 350 degrees for 2-2 1/2 hours or until done. Drain fat, serve.

Servings per loaf: 6 (but really more like 3-4). My husband always wants a second helping!

Side suggestions: Salad, Parmesan Potato Pancake, steamed vegetables, steamed carrots and baked potatoes.

**You can use a meatloaf seasoning mix in place of the spices in this recipe. It will taste just as good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 4:36 pm

    Thanks for the mention:) We need to make those pancakes again! they are quite tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Freezing Meals for Herbivores and Carnivores « Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

